Day 35: 108 Sun Salutation CELEBRATION prep!

To prepare for tomorrow and our 108 Sun Salute CELEBRATION at Peace Learning Center, I made a video for YOU demonstrating a Sun Salutation! The light is hitting my face weird, I have chickens running across the screen and making a ruckus in the background and the very end is cut short because of a dead battery! But I’m posting it anyway! I’m trying to find those imperfect perfections and I am just excited to share this practice with you!

I would LOVE to see you tonight as we pump SO MUCH positive energy out into the world and cultivate healing energy within ourselves during this powerful practice!

For those of you who are not able to make it tonight, I’d LOVE to still share this practice with you! Follow me on thisvideo as I lead you through a variation of Surya Namaskar A, and video yourself doing a Salutation or take a picture of you doing YOUR yoga! Your yoga could look like gardening today, or playing with your kids or going for a walk on this beautiful Spring day! You don’t have to bend yourself into a pretzel or do 108 Sun Salutations to “do yoga”. Yoga is a personal practice, and I would love to see glimpses and get inspiration of what YOGA is to YOU. So have fun with this and thank you for following me on this journey and for sharing your inspirations with me.

Use #Salutations2India on Instagram or tag INDIE YOGA with Stephanie Shrock on your Facebook page – or email me! Whatever you feel comfortable doing.

For those of you who ARE able to make it, I have a few suggestions on how to prepare for this intensely wonderful practice:

1) Drinks LOTS of water! Make sure to hydrate well tonight and throughout your day tomorrow.
The class is at 6:00, so slow down the water consumption around 4:30. Still drink water, but you don’t want to have a full bladder during practice.

2) Eat a nutritious meal tonight, a full breakfast tomorrow and a super nutritious lunch. Try to stay away from heavy food items that have a lot of grease, cheese, red meat.

3) Eat something light but full of nutrition and protein tomorrow around 4-4:30p. Think smoothie full of fruits and veggies and throw some oatmeal in the mix. A soup with a SMALL salad.
Remember – LIGHT and NUTRITIOUS 🙂

4) Bring a small towel to practice tomorrow.

5) Wear LOOSE COMFORTABLE clothing!

6) Try to be mindful throughout the day. Notice the feeling of the air on your skin, the clouds in the sky, listen for sounds that you would typically not notice. Start to tune in.

For post yoga benefits and recovery, my friend Dawn Parker who is an experienced and incredibly knowledgable Health Coach, has given the following helpful advice:

“If anyone ends up with sore muscles afterwards, replenishing magnesium (which we lose during sweaty workouts) will help. Nuts, seeds, avocados, dark leafy greens and dark chocolate are good examples. And a good old fashioned epsom salt bath works great too”.

Thank you Dawn! You can find out more about all the incredible services she offers nationwide at: http://dawn-parker.healthcoach.integrativenutrition.com

This is the last day to donate to Peace Learning Center through my campaign and I would be ECSTATIC to be able to reach my goal of $4000 by the end of today to share with this incredible organization that brings so many powerful resources to our community via PEACE EDUCATION programs that spread far into our community and extend to cities all over the country! I feel so honored and so blessed that they have agreed to partner with me while I manifest change in my personal life by completing 108 Sun Salutations every day to bring me closer to my dreams and purpose of becoming a Yoga Therapist while manifesting change in our community!

I am infinitely lucky!!

Come join us tonight and if you’re not able to make it, but would like to donate – THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!! 
You can make a donation at: http://www.gofundme.com/Salutations2India

Happy saluting folks!