Day 7: Fuel – Take 2

After yesterday, I was reminded the importance of proper fuel to nourish and replenish my body. Not just shoving my face with useless SMARTIES and Pirtate’s Booty puffed corn, but actual sustenance. I don’t have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen, and sometimes this lends to poor food choices out of desperation. I know I am not the only one who has this problem, so I thought I would share a few of my “go to” recipes.

I’d love any feedback and suggestions you may have to enhance these recipes as I am a novice cook at best, but I do my best – when I’m not just making a cheese platter which is often my crutch!

IMG_5440Roasted WINTER Veggies:

It’s always best to eat fruits and vegetables that are in season and while the calendar says that it is Spring, Mother Nature hasn’t quite gotten the memo. More on the benefits of seasonal eating in future posts!

Pick and choose from…

Squash varieties – my favorites are Butternut and Acorn Squash

Potato varieties – fingerling, red potatoes, sweet potatoes

Carrots

Beets – golden and red beets

Brussel Sprouts

Turnip

Cauliflower

Celery Root

Fennel

Parsnips

Onions

Garlic

Seasoning:

3 T Olive oil

Salt & Pepper

2 t lemon juice

Herbs to taste – for Winter Veggies:IMG_5443

1 T fresh chopped Rosemary

2 t chopped fresh thyme

2 T chopped fresh parsley

1 T Tumeric

* I add Tumeric to EVERYTHING – it has crazy good health benefits! In Ayurveda, it is recommended to have a tablespoon a day. Not to worry, I’ll have an entire blog dedicated to this super root! Your immune system will thank me x

This dish takes a little more prep time, but I make a whole bunch at once and it is so easy to warm back up in the oven, have on top a couscous salad the next day or in a toasted panini with goat cheese or on top a tomato based pasta dish. Besides, cutting vegetables is my therapy. I fully enjoy the process and I hope you do too!

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Chop chop chop vegetables into 1-2 inch bits. For more dense veggies like beets, turnip and squash, I cut smaller and less dense veggies, like onion, potatoes, and fennel I cut into larger pieces to insure all veggies are thoroughly cooked at the same rate.

3. Drizzle with olive oil and layer with salt and pepper, lemon juice and herbs. Get your hands DIRTY. Reach in there and mix it all up, insuring all veggies get an ample amount of oil and spices. OR use a spoon. To each their own.

4. Cover with foil and cook for 45 mins or until veggies are soft but not mushy. Test by sliding a fork into one of the more dense veggies, and if it goes through with a little resistance – that’s perfect. Uncover, turn the heat up to 400 degrees and cook for another 10-15 mins. This gives the veggies a little crisp factor and adds more flavor!

Remove from oven, cool and ENJOY!

I’ll have this with a side of fish, or a veggie burger or on its own. I’m curious with what you come up with. Please share below!!

Now for the DESSERT!

CHIA Seed Pudding:

Chia seeds have so many detoxifying health benefits – you’ll love this creamy sweet treat and all that it does for your insides.

IMG_5450
Ingredients:

2 1/2 C almond milk

3 T agave nectar

1/2 c (3oz) chia seeds

1/2 t lemon zest

sprinkle cinnamon

1. Combine almond milk and agave, shake well.

2. Add chia seeds and lemon, shake again.

3. Refridgerate 4 hours or overnight.

ENJOY!

OR … there’s always the Cheese Platter!

IMG_5442 There’s some veggies on there…

I’d love to hear your thoughts on these and YOUR “go to” recipes!!

Much love to you all!

http://www.gofundme.com/Salutations2India