Day 2: Lost Dog

IMG_5188  Today was nothing like I expected it to be. I intentionally cleared my schedule for this weekend, not knowing exactly how I would feel and how long 108 Sun Salutes would take each day. Luckily, I completed 36 rounds first thing this morning before heading to City Yoga for what has become a highlight to my week with Lisa D’s slow flow yoga class. I’m not sure how she does it, but she always seems to know EXACTLY what I need and today we focused on balancing our neurological system i.e. Lisa helped us to defrazzle our nerves and reset for a new day.

I planned to participate in a meditation in the City Library right afterward, in celebration for World Day of Inner Peace and as I was sitting there waiting for the mediation to begin, I get a phone call from Matt saying that his dog, Althea, was missing.

Talk about head spin.

I raced to Lafayette, which is an hour away, and we spent the entire day stapling flyers to poles and businesses around town and we had Althea posted on numerous social media platforms. Luckily, and by the grace of so many people sending us warm and loving thoughts and prayers – we got a phone call around 5:30 saying that someone had her and that she was safe.

Needless to say, my body is wrought with anxiety and anger and then complete and pure elation and I was feeling pretty stiff. I snuck in 7 more rounds while Matt was on the phone with the lady who had Althea and once we got home, I squeaked out the remaining 65.

I’m emotionally and physically exhausted, but our day could not have ended any better!

I knew with this challenge there would be many obstacles, I just wasn’t expecting them to come so soon on Day 2. It’s easy to say now, since our tragedy ended well, but today has helped to build confidence that I can get through this challenge. Shit is going to come up. It’s inevitable, life ALWAYS happens. I am finding comfort in this routine already and the anxiety of my day and the sometimes daunting reality of what I have challenged myself with is starting to diminish.

Now please excuse me, I have a pup that I need to give some serious snuggles to!

Thank you, and please support my campaign by donating and/or sharing at: http://www.gofundme.com/Salutations2India

Thank YOU!