Salutations to India

16

It is with many butterflies in my stomach, that I share this huge project, dream, intention with you all.

Starting tomorrow, in celebration of our Spring Equinox – I am beginning a 108 day challenge of completing 108 Sun Salutations each day until July 5th. My mission—which features engaging in yoga two to three hours each of the days and teaching donation-based classes at sites throughout Indianapolis—is to raise $12,000 with 50 percent going directly to three separate worthy community organizations and the other half toward my goal of going to India to complete my RYT-500 in Yoga Therapy and to do a Panchakarma Ayurvedic deep cleanse/detox that I have known my body needs after all my chemotherapy and radiation treatments 7 years ago.

The first 36 days of this campaign, I will be partnering with Peace Learning Center​, a local organization who’s powerful mission is to provide peace education programs to individuals and within communities. The campaign’s second 36 days will align with an animal rescue organization, and the final segment will focus on a global organization with deep roots in Indianapolis.

By donating 50 percent of all contributions, I understand that I will have to work twice as hard to reach my goal of $12,000 in a short amount of time. I however, grew up with a very strong sense of community, and many of us have a need to connect with something beyond ourselves. I’d like to create a vehicle where yoga not only improves the lives of the individual but also helps to improve the community we all live in.

This idea came into my head about 2 months ago and since then, I have had sign after sign telling me that I HAVE to go forward with it. There are a lot of parts that I am still very unsure about, and there is that HUGE thing called vulnerability that still catches my breath when I think of putting myself out here like this.
What if my body can’t withstand the magnitude of completing 108 Sun Salutations every single day? What if my schedule doesn’t allow for hours of yoga each day? What if I don’t raise enough money? What if…?
Then one day, I magically discovered that I have been here before. As I was thinking about 108 and how it shows up in so many different texts, I was curious if this number had any previous significance in my life, and it has – during the most challenging period of my life to date.
Get this – it was EXACTLY 108 days from the DAY that I received my full diagnosis of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma stage 2A to the EXACT DAY of my 8th and final chemo-therapy treatment. How crazy is that?!
And I’ve got another one for you – it was exactly 216 days from the date I heard “you have cancer”, on a Tuesday after Australia Day 2008, to the EXACT date of my flight back home to the states! This was 216 days that were filled with hospital visits, chemotherapy and radiation treatments, and beautiful and heart felt conversations and love from my family and loved ones near and far.
So like I said, I’ve been here before. The difference is this time I get to choose my challenge and while the intensity of these butterflies in my stomach increases, I’m confident that this too will take me to areas that will break me wide open allowing room for growth.

If you would like to support my mission by donating to this campaign, please visit http://www.gofundme.com/Salutations2India
Also, I will be posting daily updates of my campaign and locations and times for donation-based yoga classes at https://www.facebook.com/INDIEYOGA.StephanieShrock

I appreciate your love and support as I venture through the next couple months and if you have any doubts about me and what I am doing, I’ll ask the same thing that I asked of my loved ones 7 years ago and that is to please turn those doubts into love and send that my way. I promise it will be returned tenfold.

